Starry Night

11Jul10

My very first attempt at stacking sky photos.  I didn’t do too well, but it’s okay for a first time.  I need to figure out what I did wrong.  Looks like I may have accidentally hit the tripod towards the end of shooting.

This specific image was a stack of about 20 similar images, using a program called DeepSkyStacker.

If I decided I like this enough, I may start investing in equipment of astrophotography.  I would need a nice scope and a German equatorial mount.  Anyone know of some decently priced gear for a beginner?  I’m looking to spend maybe 2.4K at most, but would LOVE for cheaper options.

One Response to “Starry Night”

  1. You should be able to pick up the Milky Way without using this stacking program. I’ve only read about the program, as I’ve just dabbled with shooting the stars myself. But I was able to pick up the Milky Way this weekend in Yosemite, and the only stacking I did was in Photoshop, duplicating the background layer and then making it an overlay at low opacity to get more contrast and lower the noise. Try working with just 1 image in photoshop… I don’t think you hit the tripod, but maybe it’s just all the photos stacked up. if they were shot in more than 30 seconds total and stacked then you will start to get a slight blur…

    How does Deep Sky Stacker work? I assume that you can see the Milky Way in your photos before you stacked them? I was thinking I might get it, but so far things have worked well in Photoshop, so I haven’t used it yet.


Leave a Reply

